Coconut Oil Madness: Not Really Oil

Coconut oil madness!

Coconut oil madness!

I’ve been on a coconut oil kick, and, let me tell you, it’s freakin’ awesome.

Over the past few years my appreciation and search for more natural beauty care (as well as health care) products has increased and spread and, during the expedition that has been my sometimes private, sometimes public endeavor, coconut oil (CO, for short) has inevitably turned my head and stolen my proverbial heart.

That funny nut (or is it a nut? Or a fruit? Actually, it’s all three) from palm trees has been getting a lot of press, but deservingly so. Coconut oil is absolutely delightful, and I’m going to spend the next few blog posts telling you why.

Now, you may be wondering about the title of this piece: “Coconut Oil: Not Really Oil”. I know: it’s absolutely ridiculous. Of course coconut oil is oil! Without even getting into chemistry here, anyone can see that coconut oil is, one, oil-y (obviously the first indicator that a material is, in fact, oil), and, two, that it has all the other properties other common household oils* have, namely:

1. You can COOK with it.
2. It’s EDIBLE.

So, yeah, in that sense it’s like olive, vegetable, corn, canola, or any other plant-based, kitchen-esque oil.

But, coconut oil is not JUST oil. Nope. It’s also…

– lotion
– makeup remover
– leave-in hair conditioner
– facial cleanser
– liquid makeup base
– lip moisturizer (i.e. lip balm)
– anti-fungal skin treatment
– anti-bacterial / anti-viral salve (i.e. Bye bye, Neosporin)
– vitamin supplement
– brain supplement (nutrients, that is)
– nail treatment
– callous softener / foot treatment

And those are just the things I’VE used CO for.

Over the next few weeks I’m going to share why coconut oil serves each of these purposes as gallantly as the other, and how it is that I use them in these ways. Along the way I may include some other natural product revelations I’ve more or less stumbled upon, so, strap in, folks. It’s going to be a coco-nutty ride.

-Jessi MOI.

 

Read these articles:

Coconut Oil Madness: Topically Speaking

Coconut Oil Madness: Internal Affairs

Coconut Oil Madness: Superhero Cohorts

 


 

*as opposed to oils one may find in, say, the garage. (Garage-hold oils?) But, in my mind, those are better defined as lubricants, since that is garage oils’ main purpose: to lubricate car parts, gears, wheels, tools, etc.

Whatcha thinkin'? Let me know so I can hoot about it!

